jump to navigation

Little Blog and the Sunshine band July 15, 2007

Posted by biglittleblog in Holidays and travel, Music.
trackback

Little Blog’s big sister, Sunshine, has discovered the Beatles, and is feeling very adult about it. And she is making a point of practising the more obscure lyrics, the better to impress Little Blog.

“I am here as you are here as we are all together,” she is singing as she dances around the holiday apartment. “I am the eggman, I am the eggman, I am the walrus. Coo coo choo, coo coo coo choo. Sitting on a cornflake waiting for the end to come…”

Little Blog is thoroughly unimpressed. It’s her job to go on and on about nothing at all.

 She interrupts Sunshine: “I’ve got two favourite adult songs.”

 “What are they called?” Sunshine demands.



 “The one is called I wish I was a punk rocker with flowers in my hair seven 69 where the john was in the air, I was born too late to a world that doesn’t care, oh I wish I was a punk rocker with flowers in my hair.”

“Well that’s just one song. What’s the other one called?”

“Give me the beat boys as a free my soul, I wanna get lost in your rock and roll and drift away, yeah yeah yeah drift away. That’s the name of the song.”

Sunshine is not to be oudone.

“I like With a little help, Hey Jude, Day in the Life, Lucy in the Sky and lots of others.”

Little Blog is impressed. “Is that from Mommy’s music or Daddy’s music?”

Sunshine: “Both of them. Mommy gave me a tape of Beatles songs and Daddy plays Sergeant Pepper in his car.”

Little Blog: “Daddy says Mommy’s music is from Noah’s ark.”

Sunshine: “He only says Neil Diamond is from Noah’s Ark.”

Little Blog: “Was he really?”

Sunshine: “It doesn’t say anything about him in the story of Noah so I don’t think so.”

Little Blog: “Were the Beatles also from Noah’s Ark?”

(Next: Biblical archaeology is rewritten to conform to the history of rock ‘n roll)

Comments»

1. Spoegs - July 16, 2007

Enjoyed this post. For years I ran around singing the words “Fear of the Dog” whenever I heard the Maiden song “Fear of the Dark”. Stuffed up my headbanging street cred big time.


Leave a Reply

